Biennial Conference on Chemical Education Report, Spring 2017

Biennial Conference Committee (BCC)

Co-chairs William Harwood and Sherril Soman, and committee members Seth Anthony, Marian Dewane, and Mark Freilich rotated off the committee at the end of 2016. Their service to the committee and the division is greatly appreciated. Current members of the committee are Renee Cole (renee-cole@uiowa.edu), Julie Henderleiter (henderlj@gvsu.edu), David Heroux (dheroux@smcvt.edu), Sally Hunnicutt (sshunnic@vcu.edu), Irv Levy (Irv.Levy@gordon.edu), Suazette Mooring (smooring@gsu.edu), MaryKay Orgill (marykay.orgill@unlv.edu), Clarissa Sorensen-Unruh (CSorensen@cnm.edu), Dan Sykes (dgs12@psu.edu), and Vickie Williamson (williamson@mail.chem.tamu.edu). John Michael Sophos (jsophos611@comcast.net) has been contracted to serve as the Meeting Program Planner to partner with the BCC and Biennial Conference on Chemical Education (BCCE) planning teams.  

Biennial Conference on Chemical Education (BCCE)

The 24th Biennial Conference on Chemical Education (BCCE) conference was held July 31-August 4, 2016 on the campus of The University of Northern Colorado. The conference theme was “Elevating Chemical Education”. Over 1300 educators from all over the world attended the conference including 144 high school teachers and 145 students. The exhibition hosted 48 companies at 60 booths. A total of 1028 abstracts were presented in 76 symposia and 5 poster sessions. The conference offered 110 workshops. The Biennial Conference Committee extends its gratitude and appreciation to Richard Schwenz and the other members of the UNC planning team for hosting the 2016 BCCE.

The 25th BCCE will be held on the campus of the University of Notre Dame. Please visit the conference webpage at http://bcce2018.org/. The organizing committee will be accepting proposals for symposia and workshops from May 1, 2017 until December 1, 2017; however, if you want your symposium to be included in the “Call for Papers”, please submit a proposal by July 1, 2017. For additional program information, please contact General Chair, Steve Wietstock (swietsto@nd.edu), and Programming Co-Chairs, Cate Reck (creck@indiana.edu) and Jim Parise (james.parise@nd.edu). Interested exhibitors should contact Steve Wietstock.

Planning for the 26th BCCE at Oregon State is under way. Updates will be provided in subsequent newsletters. Please contact the General Chair, Richard Nafshun (richard.nafshun@oregonstate.edu), with any questions.

The Biennial Conference Committee encourages any individual or institution interested in hosting a BCCE to contact any member of the BCC. Currently, we are identifying hosts for the 2022 and 2024 BCCEs.

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer