Executive Committee


The Executive Committee serves as the Senior Management Team responsible for ensuring the overall growth and financial health of the Division.

ExComm News

Greetings DivCHED Members!

I hope this newsletter finds you all in good health and peace of mind. 

I can honestly say that both personally and professionally, little of the past 6 months was easy.  In that time, we faced tough decisions about the BCCE, National ACS meetings, budgetary issues within the Division from lost National meeting programming revenue and the cancellation of the BCCE, and facing the necessary and difficult conversations about racism, implicit bias, diversity, and inclusion in our classrooms, institutions, and society. For me, intellectual growth, self-awareness, and mindfulness have all been critical in working through these (and other) issues and hopefully, making me a better professional, leader, educator, and human. I hope you all have found similar growth and resolve.

The American Chemical Society named 53 members as ACS fellows in 2020. The following list includes those named who are DivCHED members. Congratulations!

Penny J. Beuning, Northeastern University
Deborah H. Cook, Rutgers, the State University of New Jersey (Retired)
David J. Malik, Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis (Emeritus)
Ajay Mallia, Georgia Gwinnett College Zaida
Cecilia Morales-Martinez, Florida International University (Emeritus)
Sarah E. Morgan, University of Southern Mississippi
Michael A. Morgan, Francisco Bravo Medical Magnet High School, Los Angeles
John M. Newsam, Tioga Research
MaryKay Orgill, University of Nevada, Las Vegas
Erica A. Posthuma, University High School of Indiana
Sherri Conn Rukes, Libertyville High School
Margareta Séquin, San Francisco State University

The 2020 DivCHED officer election has concluded and the following candidates were elected to serve on the DivCHED Executive Committee:

  • Chair-elect: Stacey Lowery Bretz, Miami University
  • Secretary/Councilor: Dan King, Drexel University
  • Member at Large: Deanna Cullen, Grand Valley State/ChemEdX.org
  • Councilor: Iona Black, James Madison University/Yale University
  • Alternate Councilor: Rick Moog, Franklin & Marshall College

Thank you to all of the candidates who ran for positions and our members for voting!

Dawn DelCarlo

Dr. Dawn Del Carlo

Professor of Chemistry Education
University of Northern Iowa, Cedar Falls, IA

Irvin J. Levy

Dr. Irvin J. Levy

Professor of Chemistry
Department of Chemistry and Physics
Simmons University


Dawn Del Carlo, Chair
Irv Levy, Immediate Past Chair
Stacey Lowery Bretz, Chair-elect
Daniel King, Secretary
Deanna Cullen, Member at Large
David Licata, Treasurer
Patrick Daubenmire, Chair, Program Committee
Dan Sykes, Chair, Biennial Conference Committee
Iona Black, Councilor
Roxie Allen, Councilor
Sally Mitchell, Councilor
Rick Moog, Alternate Councilor
Patrick Daubenmire, Alternate Councilor
Laura Anna, Alternate Councilor
Rachel Morgan Theall, Alternate Councilor
Alexander Grushow, Chair, ACS Exams Institute, Board of Trustees
Ellen Yezierski, Chair, JCE Board of Publication
Kristen L Murphy, Director, ACS Exams Institute
Tom Holme, Editor-in-Chief, JCE